Change language

什么是RFID?

射频识别技术(RFID)是一种利用射频电磁信号的免接触无线数据传输技术,用于自动识别、追踪被贴上标签的物品。

RFID系统由两个部分组成:标签和读写器(reader,也被成为interrogator)。像条码一样,贮存于RFID芯片内的信息,在被RFID读写器读取后,会储存在RFID读写器内置的数据库中。

RFID标签和条码标签最显著的区别在于,RFID标签可以在视线外被读取,而条码必须与光学扫描仪对齐才能被读取。这意味着RFID标签可以嵌于需要追踪的物品内。

RFID标签的种类

有两种RFID标签:被动式、主动式。主动式RFID标签需要装载电源,例如电池。它可以在几百米外就被RFID读写器读取,并不断的传输数据。

被动式RFID标签无需装载电源,它会捕获临近RFID读写器所发送的电磁波中的能量。它需要先被临近的读写器“唤醒”,然后才能被读取。

RFID的原理是什么?

RFID是一种自动辨识(AIDC)技术,AIDC技术将自动识别物体,收集物体数据并在自动或极少人工干预的情况下,将数据传输入信息系统。

简单的来说,RFID系统由三个组件构成:RFID标签或智能标签,RFID读写器,天线。RFID标签集成了可以传输数据的天线与电路。

读写器将无线电波转化为可处理的数据,并将从标签采集的信息通过通信端口传输到主机上,以便日后分析。

RFID如何在商业中应用?

RFID技术在许多工业领域均有应用,如:库存管理,资产追踪,防伪,标签,工牌,人员追踪,敏感区域的出入控制,供应链管理。

  • 在手机上贴上一张RFID标签,即可在生产线,运输流程上全程追踪,直到它到达顾客的手中。
  • 药品包装被嵌入RFID芯片后,可在仓库间转运时追踪。
  • 宠物和牲畜体内嵌入的芯片,是RFID最早的应用之一,它们被广泛运用,用来追踪每一只动物。
  • RFID护照(电子护照)使用RFID标签来存储持证人信息和他们的出入境记录(包含时间,日期,地点)。

RFID技术拥有广泛的应用场景

在离岸的油船和油气开采平台上,工作人员穿戴的RFID标签是一种安全措施。标签能让人员24小时都能被定位,在紧急情况下,也可以迅速地找到人员。

在零售行业,RFID标签最常用于单品级贴标。除了用于库存管理,也用于防盗,防库存缩水,也能让顾客可以自助结账。

滑雪等活动的通行证可以内嵌RFID,社交平台正在他们的活动中使用RFID标签,让来宾可以自动拍摄并发布照片。汽车生产商已经在他们的车展上大规模使用RFID技术,以利用社交平台进行营销。

为什么企业正舍弃条形码,转而使用RFID?

自动化是驱动RFID使用增多的主要原因。在使用RFID标签时,可以批量读取标签,相较于读取一个个光学标签所需要的大量人工,效率大大增加。随着金融市场要求企业更高效地利用资金,加上大型零售商要求供应商提供可读取RFID的货品,越来越多的企业正舍弃条形码,转向RFID技术。

RFID标签相较于条码有许多优势,它可以存储更多的数据,它们也不易被撕毁,污损,这些对于条码而言都是致命的。

RFID在时尚和时装零售业

时尚品牌正使用RFID技术来重新打造消费体验。当拿起一件内嵌RFID的衣物时,一段关于衣物制造过程的互动视频可被触发。装有RFID的试衣间可以识别顾客正在试穿的衣物,并通过互动式试衣镜,向顾客推荐合适的搭配。电子礼宾墙可以协助顾客找到提供帮助的工作人员(甚至可以提供一份饮品),配备RFID标签的平板,可以提供给顾客无缝的结账体验。

顾客所试穿衣物的数据可以与他们的消费记录与偏好整合,并用来分析顾客的喜好和风格。在店铺内帮助客户的销售人员,可以通过电脑和平板来查看这些数据,并给消费者提供真正的个性化服务。

零售商正快速地为每一个产品铺开单品级的追踪,为的是能够准确地追踪。商品有了RFID标签,员工就能迅速准确地定位所需的单品。给予顾客到良好的购物体验,并让顾客相信下次商店也能将所需物品提供给他们,这让销售,包括追加销售和向上销售更简单。这也增加了顾客的品牌忠诚度。

每年近150万双鞋和100万件服饰从制造商发出。人工库存盘点,缺货商品管理,防盗等的成本在持续升高。随着RFID系统的安装门槛不断降低,顾客的期望不断提高,更多的零售商将应用RFID技术。

图书馆和医院中的RFID技术

RFID技术曾经是最昂贵的识别方法之一。但随着近年来的发展,这种节省人工的技术可以在各种商业用途上得到应用。

医疗行业是可以从RFID技术上获得巨大收获的领域。

将现有数据库与RFID技术结合,护士和医生可以实时地获取患者的最新状态,消除不必要的查房和监测,也能更好的管理大量病人。一家医院成功的将病人的出院手续办理时间从6小时降到6分钟。

RFID技术也可以用于追踪和验证药品库存,追踪员工出勤,控制敏感区域的出入权限。内嵌RFID的器具可以在消毒流程中追踪,确保所有器具都得到了适当的处理。一次性用品可以更好地通过RFID管理,减少关键用品,例如:纱布,手套和塑料针管的缺货概率,可移动的设备能被更方便的定位,关键的部门,比如洗衣房,可以用RFID更高效地管理。

图书馆若投资于可持续技术,这将带来可观的投资回报率并节约成本。

现在,条形码是普遍被使用的技术。在每年借出30万本书的图书馆,每本借出的书都需要人工扫描,在归还时也是。假设每本书需要2秒扫描,每年将一共在扫描上花费3000小时。

有了RFID系统,多本书可以被一起扫描,节省时间,且减少了排队时间。通过在图书馆安装兼容RFID的整理设备,不用人工整理书籍,书可以自动地整理入正确的推车,而图书馆可以享受到更多节省下来的成本。

在图书馆,图书经常被错误放置,甚至丢失。通过手持机,图书管理员可以迅速的检查架上有没有缺失或放置错误的书,进行更快速的库存管理。这个过程甚至可以通过给书架安装RFID读写器自动实现。

相较于条形码,RFID拥有巨大优势

  • 无需可视化读取
  • RFID读取距离更远(20-600米)
  • 读写器可以一次性处理很多标签,可高达每秒1000个
  • 因为它只需要在读写器的范围内,所以RFID不需要安装在包装的标准位置上
  • RFID标签(可擦写标签)的内容可以被反复擦写
  • RFID标签有十年以上的使用寿命,在理想情况下,被动标签具有无限长的使用寿命
  • RFID标签可以存储更多的数据
  • RFID标签可以被编程,实现智能动作,而不仅仅是储存数据
  • RFID标签可以同时存储加密和非加密数据,也能利用密码来访问存储数据,提供更好的安全性
  • RFID标签极为耐用,能抵御严苛的环境

RFID可靠吗?

许多零售商,物流企业和制造商都表达了对RFID是否能每次都读取到每一个标签的怀疑。人工清点,特别是扫描条码,也不是永远100%正确的,而RFID远比条形码技术更准确。

生产商永远都不会读取正在通过装货门的托盘上的每一个条形码,但坚持用同样的方式使用RFID技术,就是忽略了RFID系统创造更多价值的可能性。无需人工干预,在包装箱堆上托盘的同时,通过读取包装箱上的RFID标签,生产商可以收集提高流程所需的信息。

使用RFID提升库存精确度

大部分零售商都会承认自己的库存准确度在60-70%左右。一台手持机配合收货区、补货区、零售区和仓库之间门上的固定读写器,可以将库存准确度提升至99.9%。而且,使用RFID手持机扫描,相较于扫描条形码,快了25倍。

只有当有金融需求时,RFID才需要100%精准。在绝大多数情况下,的确可以达到,这就是为什么万事通卡和银联都相信这项技术,并使用在他们的信用卡上。

RFID技术能经受海量应用的考验吗?

服饰零售是首先海量应用RFID的。从2017年开始,许多零售商宣布:如供应商、生产商、制造商不配合或在送货时提供错误的商品信息,将对其罚款。

RFID技术在大量物品的场景中使用十分理想。因为标签无需对准读写器,只需要在读写器的范围内,几千张标签即可一次读取。

读取大量标签

因为读写器无法同时读取两个标签,所以它必须区分每一张标签并在与它们一一通信后,再读取下一个。这个读取的过程非常快,即使它事实上不是同时读取的,却感觉像是同时读取的一样。

读写器将利用每个标签的唯一编码来请求标签应答,如果有两个标签应答,则读写器将以稍微不同的方式再次请求,并重复这个过程,直到只有一个标签应答。

比如:一个读写器先请求所有编号首位为0的标签应答。如果超过一个标签应答,那么读写器将请求编号开头为00的标签应答,直到其可以区分出其正在寻找的那个标签。

通过应用RFID技术来降低缺货率

大型零售商从一开始就将分销视为他们成功的关键部分。将12家RFID试点商店与相同数量的普通商店(对照组)对比,RFID技术成功地减少了12%的缺货率。缺货的商品在RFID试点商店中,补货的速度竟快了3倍,这令销售量和顾客满意度大增。

Change language

What is RFID?

Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) is a wireless non­contact use of radio frequency electromagnetic fields to transfer data in order to identify and track tags attached to objects automatically.

An RFID system is made up of two parts: a tag and a reader (also known as an interrogator). Just as with a barcode, the information embedded in an RFID chip is stored in a database by the RFID reader.

The most notable difference between RFID tags and barcodes is that RFID tags can be read outside the line­of­sight, whereas barcodes must be aligned with the optical scanner to work. This means that RFID tags can be embedded in the object that needs to be tracked.

Types of RFID tags

There are two types of RFID tags; active and passive. Active RFID tags have a local power source, like a battery, and can operate hundreds of meters away from the RFID reader. They are constantly transmitting data.

Passive tags don’t have a local power source and instead take energy from the interrogating radio waves of a nearby RFID reader. A passive RFID tag needs to be “powered up” by a nearby reader before it can transmit data.

How does RFID work?

RFID is a method of Automatic Identification and Data Capture (AIDC). AIDC technologies automatically identify objects, collect data about the objects and enter that data into computer systems with little or no human intervention.

Simply put an RFID system consists of three components: an RFID tag or smart label, an RFID reader and an antenna. The RFID tag contains an integrated circuit and an antenna that transmit data to the reader.

The reader converts the radio waves to a more usable form of data, and the information collected from the tags is transferred via a communications interface to a host computer system. There the data is stored in a database and can be analysed at a later time.

How is RFID used in business?

RFID technology is used in many industries to perform tasks such as inventory management, asset tracking, counterfeit prevention, ID badging, personnel tracking, controlling access to restricted areas and supply chain management.

  • An RFID tag attached to a mobile phone enables its tracking through the assembly line and shipping process until it reaches the customer.
  • Pharmaceuticals embedded with RFID chips can be tracked as they are shipped from one warehouse and arrive at another.
  • The microchipping of pets and livestock is one of the oldest uses of RFID technology and is widely implemented to allow the identification of individual animals.
  • RFID passports (“e­passports”) use RFID tags to store information about the passport holder as well as record the travel history (time, date, and place) of entries and exits from the country.

RFID technology has a wide variety of uses

On off­shore oil rigs and gas platforms, RFID tags are worn by personnel as a safety measure. The tags allow the workers to be located 24 hours a day and, in case of an emergency, be found quickly.

In retail RFID tags are most commonly used for item­level tagging. In addition to inventory control, this provides protection against stealing, shrinkage and enables secure self­checkout for customers.

Ski and event passes can also be embedded with RFID technology. Social media platforms are currently using RFID tags in their events to allow guests to capture and post photos automatically. Car manufacturers have widely adopted RFID technology for their social media marketing at car shows.

Why are companies moving from barcodes to RFID technology?

Automation is the main reason driving the increased adoption of RFID. Mass reading tags increases efficiency while decreasing the amount of manual labour that is involved in reading optical tags individually. As financial markets demand that companies use capital more effectively, and large retailers require suppliers to have RFID­readable inventory, more and more companies are moving from barcodes to RFID technology.

RFID tags offer many advantages over barcodes. RFID tags can hold much more data, and they are not susceptible to the damages that barcodes are, such as tearing or smearing.

RFID in fashion & apparel retail

Fashion brands are using RFID technology to re­invent their customer experiences. Picking up a garment embedded with an RFID chip can trigger an interactive video about how the garment was made. RFID­enabled dressing rooms can now identify what items customers are trying on and suggest complimentary items in the interactive mirrors. Digital concierge walls help customers find assistance (or a drink) and coupled with tablets RFID tags give customers a seamless checkout experience.

Data about what garments a customer tried on can be combined with their buying history and shopping preferences to analyse customer likes and tastes. Sales associates assisting customers in the store can access this information via computers and tablets to deliver a truly personalised experience to shoppers.

Retailers are quickly adopting item­level tracking for accurate visibility of each item. With RFID tags attached to merchandise, staff can quickly and accurately locate the items required. Leaving the customer with a positive experience, and confident that the store will provide them with what they were looking for the next time as well, makes selling – including cross­ and upselling – easier. It also increases customers’ brand loyalty.

Nearly 15 million pairs of shoes and 10 million garments ship from manufacturers yearly. The cost of conducting manual inventory, managing out­of­stocks and preventing theft continues to rise. As the installation barrier gets lower and shoppers’ expectations get higher, retailers will increasingly adopt RFID technology.

RFID in hospitals and libraries

RFID technology has traditionally been one of the most expensive identification methods available. However, with recent developments, this labour saving technology has become viable for different uses within businesses.

Health care is one field that can benefit greatly from implementing RFID technology. Combining RFID tags with existing databases, nurses and doctors can gain access to real­time updates about patients’ statuses, eliminate unnecessary check­ins and monitoring procedures as well as better cope with large volumes of patients. One hospital managed to reduce patient discharging times from six hours to six minutes.

RFID technology can also be used to track and authenticate pharmaceutical inventory, track attendance of staff as well as control access to restricted areas. Tools embedded with RFID tags can be tracked through the sterilisation process to ensure all tools are properly treated. Disposable inventory can be managed more efficiently with RFID, reducing out­of­stocks for critical items like gauze, disposable gloves and plastic vials. Portable equipment can be located more easily and critical functions, like laundry, can be more effectively managed with RFID.

Libraries can make sustainable investments that bring considerable ROI and savings. Currently, barcodes are the standard technology in use. In a library with 3 million loans per year, each loan needs to be scanned manually, both when leaving and returning to the library. If each book takes 2 seconds to scan this accumulates to over 3,000 hours per year spent on scanning alone.

With an RFID system, several books could be scanned at once, saving time and reducing queue times. By installing an RFID compatible sorting machine the library could enjoy further savings as the books could be sorted into the correct carts automatically, rather than have library staff sort returns manually.

Misplaced and missing items are common in libraries. With handheld readers, librarians could quickly check if a shelf has missing or misplaced books resulting in quicker inventory control. This process could even be made automatic by equipping shelves with RFID readers.

Benefits of RFID tags when compared to barcodes

  • No need for line­of­sight to read tags.
  • RFID tags can be read at a greater distance, 20­600 metres.
  • Readers can process multiple RFID tags at once, up to thousands of tags per
    second.
  • RFID tags do not need to be placed in a standard position on the product packaging
    since tags only need to be in range of the reader.
  • The content on RFID tags can be changed several times (rewritable tags).
  • The lifetime of an RFID tag is 10 years or more. Passive tags ideally have an unlimited service life.
  • RFID tags can store larger amounts of data.
  • RFID tags can be programmed for smart behaviour instead of just data storage.
  • RFID tags can hold encrypted and unencrypted data at the same time as well as
    utilise passwords to access stored data, providing a higher level of security.
  • RFID tags have high durability and resistance to harsh environments.

Is RFID reliable?

A lot of retailers, logistics companies and manufacturers express concerns about RFID not being able to read every single tag, every single time. Manual counting, such as scanning a barcode, is never 100% accurate either, but RFID is far more accurate than barcode technology.

A manufacturer would never try to read every bar code on a pallet going through a loading dock door, but insisting that RFID technology has to be used in this way is ignoring the possibilities of how RFID systems can be used to create more value. Manufacturers can collect the information needed to improve their operations by reading RFID tags on cases, hands­free, as those cases are being stacked onto the pallet.

Improve inventory accuracy with RFID

Most retailers will admit to having an inventory accuracy of around 60­70%. A single handheld reader coupled with fixed readers at the receiving area, the replenishment area, and the door between the back room and retail floor can boost inventory accuracy to 99.9%. Furthermore, RFID scanning with a handheld reader is about 25 times faster than barcode scanning.

The only time RFID needs to be 100% reliable is when a financial transaction is involved. In most cases, it is, and that is why MasterCard and Visa trust the technology enough to use it in credit cards.

Is RFID feasible with high volumes?

Apparel retailers were the first to adopt RFID for high­volume operations. Starting in 2017 many retailers have announced that they will fine suppliers, manufacturers and brands for both noncompliance and incorrect merchandise information accompanying shipments.

RFID technology is ideally suited to handle large volumes of items. As the tags do not need to be positioned in view of the readers, only be in the range of readers, thousands of tags can be read at once.

Reading high volumes of tags

Readers must isolate a single tag, communicate with it and move to the next one, since they cannot communicate with two tags simultaneously. This happens so quickly that it may seem simultaneous, even though it isn’t.

The interrogator asks a tag to respond depending on a number unique to that tag. If two tags respond, the reader asks again in a slightly different way and it will continue in this manner until only a single tag responds.

For instance, a reader can ask all tags with a serial number beginning with 0 to respond. If more than one tag responds, the reader asks all tags that have serial numbers starting with 00 to respond, and so on until it has isolated the tag it was looking for.

Reducing out­of­stocks with RFID

Large retailers have from the beginning recognised that distribution is a crucial part of success. In a comparison of twelve RFID pilot stores with as many control stores, RFID technology managed to reduce out­of­stocks by 16%. The out­of­stock inventory was also replenished three times faster in the stores that deployed RFID technology than in the control stores, resulting in increased sales and customer satisfaction.